HomeAboutChargesContact
 

Call for a FREE Reckless Driving Cases Consultation


 

we Serve the following cities in Orange County, California

Anaheim, Aliso Viejo, Balboa, Brea, Buena Park, Corona Del Mar, Costa Mesa, Coto De Caza, Cypress, Cerritos, Dana Point, Foothill, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Habra, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Mission Viejo, Midway City, Newport Beach, Orange, Placentia, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Sunset Beach, Tustin, Trabuco Canyon, Villa Park, Westminster, Yorba Linda

Submit Your Case Details
Your contact information is kept confidential and will not be shared with 3rd parties.

Reckless Driving Cases in Orange County

Vehicle Code section 23103(a) says, "Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving."   Willful implies intent or purpose, while wanton expresses a reckless disregard of consequences.   In plain English, Vehicle Code 23103 makes it illegal to voluntarily drive a motor vehicle with an intentional or conscious disregard for the safety of persons or property.

Reckless driving is a misdemeanor and the potential consequences are immense.   If you are convicted of reckless driving, you could face a maximum of 90 days in jail and a fine of $1000.00.   It also counts as 2 points on your driving record and could have severe implications on your privilege to operate a motor vehicle.   It would undoubtedly cause any person's insurance rates to skyrocket.   A reckless driving conviction can also have a negative impact on a person's employment, especially if you drive for a living.   Compare this to an average speeding ticket.   The average violation for speeding is not a misdemeanor, but an infraction, which is not punishable by incarceration.   Speeding is only 1 point on your driving record, which can often be erased by traffic school.   None of this is true for reckless driving.

There is a great deal that an experienced attorney can do for people accused of reckless driving.   As with any misdemeanor, we can appear on your behalf, so you don’t have to take time away from work or school to sit around the courthouse.   The facts spelled out by the police in his or her report is also critical to begin formulating defenses on your behalf.   In Orange County, you can’t get the police report unless you request it from the police yourself.   And even then, the police must redact personal information, charge you a fee, and you may not receive all the reports that were generated.   However, rules of discovery say that your attorney must receive all reports generated by police in your case, automatically, unredacted, and usually at no charge.   It is important to see what factors the police say led to being considered a reckless driver .   For example, your speed alone cannot constitute a reckless driving conviction, per California Jury Instruction section 16.841.   Without an experienced attorney fighting for you, you are left to hopelessly stagger through the minefield that is the court process alone.

Mr. Grupenhagen has successfully represented countless people faced with reckless driving in Orange County.   If you are facing reckless driving charges, seek the advice of an experienced professional and call us today.

  HOME | ABOUT ME | ORANGE COUNTY COURTS | LEGAL RESOURCES | CRIMINAL TERMINOLOGY | FINE CALCULATIONS
CRIMINAL CASE PROCEDURE
| GUNS vs. DUI | SHOULD I HIRE A PRIVATE ATTORNEY? | BAIL BONDS | CONTACT
  Copyright © 2005 Daniel C. Grupenhagen. Web Directory