HomeAboutChargesContact
 

Call for a FREE Hit and Run Case Consultation in Orange County


Submit Your Case Details
Your contact information is kept confidential and will not be shared with 3rd parties.

Hit and Run Cases in Orange County

Mr. Grupenhagen handles Hit and Run cases in Orange County. Any driver involved in an accident involving injury to another person, or in death, is generally required to stop and to provide information concerning the driver's identity and to render aid to any persons injured in the accident (California Vehicle Code § 20001(a)). A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death can have severe consequences for the fleeing driver. If any injuries to the other person are "serious permanent injuries" or if any other person has died as a result of the accident, the driver faces a minimum sentence of 90 days imprisonment in the county jail, and a maximum sentence of up to four years imprisonment in state prison. The driver also faces fines of up to $10,000.00 and the revocation of his or her driver's license for one year. It is important to note that the driver is exposed to these penalties whether the driver was "at fault" for causing the accident or not.

If a driver is involved in an accident resulting in damage to property only, the driver has a similar obligation. The driver must stop the vehicle in a safe location and locate and identify himself or herself to the owner of the property damaged. If the owner cannot be located, the driver must then leave a written note on the damaged property. The note must contain the driver's name and address and the name and address of the vehicle's owner. Thereafter, without delay, the driver must notify either the city police, or the California Highway Patrol (California Vehicle Code § 20002(a)). Any driver who fails to comply with these requirements faces a maximum sentence of imprisonment of six months in the county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.00. Furthermore, the driver faces possible driver's license suspension. Again, the driver is exposed to these penalties whether the driver was "at fault" for causing the accident or not.

Law enforcement authorities investigating a so-called "hit and run" in Orange County will generally contact the owner of the vehicle either by a knock on the door, or by letter. In many instances, the owner of the vehicle will receive a letter in the mail directing the owner to come to the police or sheriff's station and bring the vehicle and give a statement as to what happened at the time of the accident. we recommend that, prior to making any statements to law enforcement or contacting law enforcement officers in any way in response to such requests, that you contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney in order to discuss your legal rights. Generally, any information you provide to law enforcement in response to these "requests" can be used against you in a subsequent criminal prosecution for fleeing the scene of an accident. They may not be able to prove who was driving until you admit to them that you are the sole driver of the vehicle or that no one else has permission to drive it. This kind of statement often provides police with just the evidence they need to submit their case to the District Attorney with a request to file charges against you. Given how high the stakes are, and given that the officer you will speak with is highly trained in the law and in interview techniques, you need to have a legal representative who is knowledgeable about this area of law on your side before contacting law enforcement.

Mr. Grupenhagen has successfully defended people being investigated for or who are being charged with "hit and run" in Orange County, and there are numerous possible defenses to these cases. In some cases, law enforcement cannot prove who was driving the vehicle at the time of the accident. Furthermore, in certain instances, the driver may not have been aware that he or she had even been involved in an accident. Mr. Grupenhagen has the experience necessary to defend you against "hit and run" allegations in Orange County.

we Serve the following cities in Orange County, California

Anaheim, Aliso Viejo, Balboa, Brea, Buena Park, Corona Del Mar, Costa Mesa, Coto De Caza, Cypress, Cerritos, Dana Point, Foothill, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Habra, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Mission Viejo, Midway City, Newport Beach, Orange, Placentia, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Sunset Beach, Tustin, Trabuco Canyon, Villa Park, Westminster, Yorba Linda
  HOME | ABOUT ME | ORANGE COUNTY COURTS | LEGAL RESOURCES | CRIMINAL TERMINOLOGY | FINE CALCULATIONS
CRIMINAL CASE PROCEDURE
| GUNS vs. DUI | SHOULD I HIRE A PRIVATE ATTORNEY? | BAIL BONDS | CONTACT
  Copyright © 2005 Daniel C. Grupenhagen. Web Directory